School

Funny how one of my main focuses at home (in the states) is school.  Now that I am here my focus seems to be shifting a wee bit from cooking to education.  The Lord has put a BIG burden on my heart for education here.  Thankfully a new staff member is coming on board to head up the education aspects of our ministry.  She will work stateside for a while then move here.  While I am here, I would love to assist here in any way I can and remain in charge of feeding the 70 plus hungry Americans that come to do Camp Life.

Yesterday we welcomed the 103 children into the Tree of Life Christian Academy.

AMAZING!

My son looked at me and said, “Mom, I think these kids should never take this for granted.”  They shouldn’t.  Education in a third world country basically means death or life.  We Americans definitely take it for granted.  Most schools are poorly run and have NO standards.  I walked through a compound ( a village) a few weeks ago and saw a long house, or so I thought, with many children hanging out the windows, more running in and out of the building and three adults following our youngest around begging for a picture.  Wow!  I asked my Zambian partner, “what kind of house is that?”  He told me it was the Community School.  I was SHOCKED!  I was appalled.  I was even more appalled the next day when I asked my campers to sign my shirt.  The youngest camper, Martha (who is 7) just stood there, and stared at the shirt.  I kept nudging her, “go ahead, sign my shirt.”  It occurred to me that the child could not even write her name.  I then instructed her to just write “M” for Martha.  Still blank stares.

I was furious!!!  She is also our sponsored child and I am not happy that our sweet Martha is in a school that teaches NOTHING.  This shall change.

Anyhoo…..back to the Tree of Life School……

This is group of kiddos ready to see their new school.  Precious!!!  Have I mentioned that it is winter here?  Yesterday was probably the coldest day yet.  Of course it wasn’t terribly cold to me but it was pretty chilly (I always thought it was HOT in Africa at all times).

This picture should not be blurry!!!  Sorry!

I had so much fun setting up the pre-k classroom. I have a wee bit of experience.  🙂 The teachers here in Zambia have NO resources so our new school having all the resources makes it a 5 star school.

The teachers dressed up in their very very best and were as excited as the children.  I was so pleased.

I took some fun snaps (the word for pictures here in Zambia) of the teachers but my internet is not too happy.  Maybe later….

3 Comments

  1. courtney
    Posted July 7, 2010 at 12:52 pm | Permalink

    you will be a great resource for the school.

  2. Tiffany
    Posted July 7, 2010 at 6:32 pm | Permalink

    Hi sweet friend! So glad to hear of all the wonderful things you are doing! God is definitely using your gifts WELL! Miss you..hugs to everyone! 🙂

  3. Sheli
    Posted July 11, 2010 at 9:47 pm | Permalink

    Love that my money helps with the education of so many children!! Thank you for setting up their classroom.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

