Apparently I should also be thankful for . . .

My thankful post today is actually a funny story.

An embarrassing story.

Late Sunday afternoon I headed out to fetch Little Miss and my nephew Luke from our church.  They joined 40 other 2nd and 3rd graders on a mini-camp hosted by our children’s ministry.  We were originally told to be ready to greet the campers at 5:30.  LONG story short… one of the buses broke down so of course the arrival time was a lot later than planned.

Well, the bus full of little guys arrived over an hour before the gals’ bus.  When I met Luke, he decided that he wanted to go home rather than wait around with his Auntie for his cousin.  I don’t blame him.  I drove him home (about a 15 minute one-way drive) and hung out with my SIL for a bit.  I then headed down the road to grab something from my folks.  I had not eaten since lunch so by that time (7:30) I was fairly hungry.  Mom gave me a chicken breast and a banana.   I munched on the chicken as I  headed BACK to the church to fetch my Little Miss. As I was turning on the road that leads to the highway, I heard a loud “POP” then a few softer pops.

Oh darn!  I thought my tire had busted.  Because I kept hearing little “pops” I assumed the noise was coming from the flat tire hitting the pavement.  I immediately pulled over to the side of the road.  At that point, I was getting a little dizzy ( I get VERY dizzy VERY easily).  By the time I put the car in park, I was in a FULL BLOWN dizzy spell, had the husband on the phone, and kept hearing “popping” from my car.  I guess the dizziness got worse b/c I sorta got nervous sitting in my car in the dark ALONE with a strange noise coming from the back of my car.  I was confused.  And nervous.  The husband was on the phone with me suggesting I get out of the car and look at the tire.  Well, that would have been a good idea but I couldn’t move my head without the entire world moving with me.  I started to panic b/c the dizziness just got worse and I started to worry that I would be late picking up Little Miss.  Getting on the highway in that condition was NOT a good idea.

After getting a little testy with the husband, I decided I had to just breathe and let the blasted spell take its course.  After sitting there about 5 minutes I was able to focus my eyes enough to notice blinking lights.  Great!  A cop!  But I looked in my rearview mirror and saw nothing.  I was still very unsteady at that point but I was so baffled by the lights.  I then rolled down my windows b/c I was getting awfully clammy.  Not only did I keep seeing lights, but that popping noise continued.  What was going on?

In the midst of the annoying dizzy spell, I started laughing.

FIREWORKS!  I was driving by the city park and they were shooting off fireworks for the Pecan Festival.

I went into a massive dizzy spell just because of unexpected fireworks.

So, I am thankful that my run-in was with fireworks – not a flat tire.  I was able to chug along on the highway and fetch my camper.  It took me all evening to shake it off but things were not spinning.

Thank you, Lord, for your provision of safety while I was really in no state to be driving.  Thanks for bringing my little gal home to me safely.  I really can’t take highway safety for granted when there are so many road hazards out there.

Like fireworks.

2 Comments

  1. Posted November 15, 2010 at 10:33 pm | Permalink

    Highway safety is a HUGE thing to be thankful for. So glad you didn’t have to change a flat in a scary dark place!!

  2. Ella Tracy
    Posted November 16, 2010 at 9:19 am | Permalink

    So thankful, too that all turned out OK. The Lord is so good and His watch-care and provisions are everlasting.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

