Thankful for cash in the kids’ hands

Our eight-year-old has $21 saved up from her allowance and a bit of birthday money burning a hole in her pocket.  Tonight after the girls had gymnastics, the three kiddos were all complaining of starvation!!!  Only the boy liked the sound of chicken enchiladas for supper.  UUGH!  It was already getting late so going home to make a full supper did not sound like fun to me. The husband has really been pushing for me to revert back to using cash only at all times (not a big fan of that either).  Respecting his wishes, I told the children I had $1.50 to my name so eating out was not an option.

Apparently the starvation had gone to their heads because Little Miss said, “I will buy!”  She agreed on buying the kids a healthy supper at Taco Bell (good mom that I am).  After we spent a whopping 5 bucks on feeding the Knightly children, Little Miss said, ” Mom, let us go over to that Chinese restaurant you like and I will buy you and Daddy supper.”

Sold.

This weekend, Pumpkin treated me to a fancy coffee at Starbucks with her gift card and tonight Little Miss bought the entire fam supper.

I could get used to this.

I could get spoiled.

I wonder what the Lad will buy me now?

Maybe allowance isn’t such a bad thing after all . . .

One Comment

  1. Siv
    Posted November 20, 2010 at 11:35 pm | Permalink

    Ha! That’s too cute! What sweet kiddos!! 🙂


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

