I took an unplanned sabbatical

Too bad it was an unpaid one! 

The holidays are in full swing around here.  The only complaint I can share concerns the weather.  It is just too plain hot for my likings!  I just turned on the air conditioning!  I keep telling myself that I WANT to live in Texas.  I do because this is home and being close to family takes precedent over other things such as the weather!!!  We figured out how to avoid the majority of the dreaded HOT summers here by dwelling in Africa (our summer is their winter).  I have yet to figure out a way to make it snow every Christmas day in Texas!

This post was not intended to be a gripe session about the weather. 

So… let us catch up.  Shall we? 

The three weeks of school after Thanksgiving were filled with concerts, parties, finals, finishing up the semester, etc, etc. 

The husband has been absorbed with end of the year details at work.  The kids and I have been involved in all sorts of festivities at school.  The Lad and Pumpkin are in choir and have had several concerts.

Our school district holds a Culture Diversity Fair every year.  The Lad studied Russia, Pumpkin had to create an art project from India, and Little Miss was assigned Japan. 

My friend, Lynne, gave our family a Countdown to Christmas collection.  I am so thankful for this gift.  I have always wanted to do this for my kids but have never managed to follow through.  I have had a hard enough time completing the 12 Days of Christmas for the husband! 

Wanna be scared?

Little Miss on the roof!!!!  If you have spent any length of time with our youngest curly headed gal, you would know that this is a very scary situation.  I am happy to announce that she did not fall off.  I took this picture and ran back inside, cringing every time I heard little feet pitter patter on the roof.  She told me back in November that her favorite thing about Christmas was getting on the roof with Daddy.

Family Legacy Christmas Party!

We had a Christian book gift exchange.  Any guesses on what the book of the year was?

My precious, precious man!  I am so proud of him!

Most of the fam at Pumpkin’s choir concert.  I hate to confess that the big ham is my dad.

Pumpkin sang at Northpark mall.  I was able to go as a teacher so my pay was not docked!  Gran and Grandaddy live very close to the mall so they joined us! 

Christmas parties at school!

Another Family Legacy Missions party!  I hosted a little party for the husband’s new staff. 

Making gingerbread houses!  Little Miss was invited to a friend’s house today for a wintery activity.  The weather was perfect for outdoor fun…if you like 80 degree weather 4 days before Christmas! 

Merry Christmas!

2 Comments

  1. Pam
    Posted December 21, 2010 at 7:55 pm | Permalink

    You can send some of that warmth to NC! It has been unseasonable COLD this month! Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  2. Ella Tracy
    Posted December 21, 2010 at 8:23 pm | Permalink

    Love reading about all the fun activities!! Hopefully we’ll bring some cooler weather with us!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

