Good thing….

I didn’t post any resolutions this year.

I would be a failure.

Blogging daily was up there on my mental list.  Well, you know…..

I decided about a week ago in my daily blogging (that I obviously have ignored) that I would not have New Year’s Resolutions.  I voted to just list some changes I would like to make in my life this year.  Or even things to continue into the new year that have proven to be a good thing this past year. I am warning you that some seem silly and very minuscule.  My friend and I were just chatting today about how the little bitty things in life (like unimportant looking puzzle pieces)  add up to create a beautiful puzzle picture.

So in the spirit of  my love for lists, here we go….

1.  floss my teeth daily

2.  be more diligent in my prayer time …maybe even be more consistent in keeping a prayer journal

3.  get my kids to eat healthier

4. reduce spontaneous spending (i.e. snacks)

5.  have meaningful supper times (this was once HIGH on our priority list but lately we have made it rush rush)

6.  come home from work HAPPY

7.  get back to waking up at 5:15 to workout, make breakfast, and get out the door by 7:15am.

8.  menu plan!!!!

9.  have lesson plans complete and materials organized by Thursday night (the week before)

10.  portfolios!

11.  scrapbook

12. yep, lose weight.  Actually, I have set a very specific goal for this one.  20 pounds by June 4.  I WILL be 2o pounds lighter by the time I step onto that plane heading for Africa.  I am still finalizing my plan but basically I am eating all natural foods and making it a priority to “eat the rainbow.”

13.  Be fun at home again

14.  read more

15.  take a fabulous vacation

16.  drink 16 oz of water FIRST thing in the morning (easy to do when I workout)

17.  Sell our house!!!

18.  Buy a new house

19.  have deep conversations with my children

20.  pass my ESL certification test

21.  buy new clothes (smaller ones)  🙂

22.  learn a new skill

23.  play with my children

24.  visit friends who live far away

25.  take kids to DC (the birthplace of the two oldest)

26.  take better pictures

27.  write more love notes to the husband

28.  use bigger and more intellectual words (well, I do teach pre-k)

29.  not stress

30.  “rejoice with those who rejoice and mourn with those who mourn”  Romans 12:15

31.  go camping

32.  have folks over for supper more often

33.  learn how to french braid

34.  go to Paris

35.  Go to the island of Zanzibar.  (Know where that one is???)

36.  Get over my fear of flying in wee little planes (while flying to remote places like Zanzibar)

37.  LISTEN to my children

38.  pick up a bit of my piano skills while Little Miss begins her musical adventure on the piano

I am sure I will think of 100 more as soon as I press “publish” but this is a starter.

I wish you well in your future endeavors to better yourself this year!!!

2 Comments

  1. Posted January 8, 2011 at 9:28 pm | Permalink

    Zanzibar, huh?! Sounds like an interesting resolu-, er, change…

    We are settled in Oregon for now, no changes on the horizon. I keep griping about it – I keep seeing these innocent little hungry faces and wanting to be THERE – but perhaps there is something major for me to learn right here.

  2. Leslie
    Posted January 17, 2011 at 11:24 pm | Permalink

    Oo, Oo come visit us!! we have enough room for ALL of you. We are going to DC in March to do the tourist’y thing, ya’ll could come with us!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

