1,000 words

If a picture is indeed worth a thousand words, then I was rather chatty this weekend.  

48 pages complete.  31 in my 2009 album that now has journaling on every page and covered with a page protector.  

(sigh)

I also started our 2010 album.  Did not make tons of progress in that one but made a dent.  

As I was driving home alone this afternoon, I started to think about all the feelings each picture evoked.  As I created pages from last Christmas, I became a bit teary eyed.  Two dear dear people who were smiling, hugging my children, and just living life are now no longer with us.  

Those pictures made me appreciate the gift of photos and my hobby of scrapbooking even more.  Each photo brought back millions of memories and forced me to recall wee little details that didn’t seem to matter at all at the time.  

Another thought that ran through my head was how TRULY blessed I am.  I know I tend to use that phrase frequently but I really don’t know any other way to verbally express my gratitude.  I looked at the photos of my husband, wearing that big goofy grin, and saw genuine written all over his face.  I saw my curly-headed girly light up an entire photo with her big smile and deep blue eyes.  My son screams handsome in photos with those big blue eyes, freckles, and little dimples. Pumpkin somehow generates peacefulness and sweetness all over the place.  And although most of our family photos are far from perfect, you can see our love.  

I HAVE A PRECIOUS FAMILY.  A happy family.  

Bottom line.  Everything about my life as a mother and wife is a good thing.  My husband and I have done MANY things wrong but HE has truly blessed us in this thing called parenting.  We have experienced wonderful things as a family.  Some situations have started out ugly but have brought about positive results, building our character AND our relationships.  

I can’t fail to mention the numerous pictures of friends that share moments in our lives.  They are like a whole other family.  Once again, all I can say is I AM BLESSED. 

I love chronicling all those ups and downs, the experiences that grow us and mold us to be the individuals AND the family we are aiming to be.  

A picture may be worth 1,000 words . . . but the ones in my scrapbooks are worth so much more.

3 Comments

  1. sincerelyanna
    Posted January 16, 2011 at 6:43 pm | Permalink

    You said it! You have been blessed with a wonderful family and they are blessed to have you as Mom. I wish I could see your pages!

  2. Ella Tracy
    Posted January 17, 2011 at 5:05 pm | Permalink

    What a wonderful testimony to a wonderful and blessed life – thanks to God the Father and His son Jesus for blessings unending!

  3. Siv
    Posted January 18, 2011 at 5:51 pm | Permalink

    Love this blog post!! 🙂 Glad you had a wonderful walk down memory lane!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

