Honesty and Integrity

The first time I remember truly comprehending the meaning of integrity was my first year of marriage.

We were living in Washington, DC, enjoying the newlywed bliss.  That summer Promise Keepers came to our Nation’s capital for a big rally of some sort.  My husband was excited.  His former boss even flew in from Texas and stayed with us for the event.

I remember that when they returned home they were full of testimonies and stories of the massive amount of men on the mall of Washington, D.C.  I wanted the little details.  How many men attended?  What did you eat?  Was the Metro (subway) crowded?  Any famous speakers?

I wanted depth.

The only thing I remember now, 14 years later, is one word.  I don’t remember how many people attended it.  I don’t even remember the name of the neighbor who went with the husband and our house guest.  I don’t remember what I did all day up there in DC as a young bride but I remember what my husband shared upon his return.

One word he said was INTEGRITY.  I think I even asked what that word meant.  (uhum) Yep, I was a bright young’n!

I don’t remember exactly how he defined it to me that day but I do recall that he was determined to live a life of integrity as a man, as a man.  He made a small pact right there in our wee little apartment.

And really, that was the end of that.

Well, end of conversation but not the end of his commitment.

My husband is a man who wholeheartedly seeks a life of integrity.  If you need a definition, just come spend some time with my man.

My husband, who seeks God wholeheartedly, has defined it for me day after day: “Doing what is right when nobody is looking.”  That, my friend is the rub.  Even when you think your choice will not affect a soul or even yourself, doing what is right is what matters.

Like my husband constantly demonstrates, I crave for my children to partake in “whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable.”  (Philippians 4:8)

The verse printed on my calendar is actually Psalm 25:21:

“May integrity and uprightness protect me, because my hope is in you.”

I pray this same integrity and protection for my children as they follow in the footsteps of their daddy.

2 Comments

  1. Posted February 4, 2011 at 7:35 pm | Permalink

    Oh, it was great to hear from you! What a great post, about a great man, too. 🙂 Integrity is one of my favorite words and concepts.

  2. Posted February 4, 2011 at 8:50 pm | Permalink

    What a great post and challenge to live a life of integrity! “Doing what is right when nobody is looking.” I hear that one often in my home too.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

