My mother about killed me with these words!

My parents have always been full of great wisdom and did a fantastic job raising my brother and me to follow the Lord.  I recall many words of wisdom but one word (actually two) drove me CRAZY!  (Still do!)

How many times did I hear, “Cindy Renee, you must learn self-control.”  

My brother and I were often reminded that self-control was simply controlling ourselves.  Add a bit of ADD/HD tendencies to that mix and you had trouble!  It seemed that having self-control ranked higher than getting all A’s on our report cards.  Why did my parents’ eyes always drift to the right side of the report card BEFORE the left side?  Controlling all areas of our behavior was for some reason of great importance to our folks.  

And now that it is my turn to parent, I would say self-control is a key to my children’s character building.  It is the key to the disciplines in their lives.  It will lead to a closer relationship with the Lord.  It will lead to a life of selflessness.  It will lead to a life that will glorify HIM.  

That there, my internetty friends, is the rub.  

And if my mom repeating these words wasn’t enough, she would sing: “Self-control is just controlling myself.  It is listening to my heart, and doing what is smart. Self-control is the very best way to go so I think that I’ll control myself.” 

Of course Daddy having a “board of education” stored away in his cabinet helped in the area of self-control!  

Father, help my children not to be like many others around them, but let them be “alert and self-controlled” in all they do.  

(1 Thessalonians 5:6)

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

