R-E-S-P-E-C-T

Wanna sing, don’t you?

The first thing that comes to mind besides the song is the respect my children have for authority (mainly towards yours truly and my better half).

Little Miss told me that respect means to honor, admire, or look up to.  Not bad for an 8-year-old.  I asked her who she should respect and she replied, “My teacher and you.”

We looked up synonyms in the thesaurus (have I ever shared how much I love that book?) and came up with:

reverence, regard

Regard means to take notice of and be guided by (heed).

Respect is something the husband and I put great emphasis on when training our children.  I am certain there are many, many things we do wrong and don’t pay close enough attention to.  My children are far from perfect – in fact, they evidently inherited my active genes. I know I tolerate more than I should but they will NOT be disrespectful.

Father, grant that my children may “show proper respect to everyone” (1 Peter 2:17) as Your Word commands.  And may our respect for YOU l be reflected in the lives of our children!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

