contentment

hmmmmmmmmm…

Learned a lot about this during our jaunt in Africa this summer. 

Well, I didn’t learn about what contentment actually means…..

I learned that my children, being raised as Americans, do and WILL struggle with being content. 

I looked up the definition today and found that Webster says contentment is the feeling experienced when one’s wishes are met. 

We saw many children who seemed content in their situations while my children judged the situations as grim and rugged (our 12-year-old thought the lack of electronics was equal to death). 

I guess what made the difference in my children’s lives and those of the vunerable children in Zambia was simply their wishes or knowledge of certain pleasures.  The Zambian children knew of nothing different but a life of hardships (not of lacking electronics but of lacking food and love).   Our children do not know of a life apart from pleasure and ease. 

I know my children will experience hardships AND heartache in their lives.  I know they will find themselves in icky situations, struggling to find contentment b/c their wishes are not being met. 
BUT…..good news for them is that they CAN find contentment b/c their hope is in the Lord.  HE will give them pleasure in ways that are incomprehensible to their worldy minds. 

Tonight (I hate to confess) my children have found great contentment in this…

(My classroom’s new Ipad)

And I find contentment in seeing this…

Father, teach my children “the secret of being content in any and every situation…through Him who gives them strength.”  (Philippians 4:12-13)

And remind us all that “godliness with contentment is great gain” (1 Timothy 6:6)

Even without the Ipad.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

