C is for Cynthia

Cynthia is my name. It means “bearer of light.”  My mother lovingly refers to me as her Sunshine.  The only qualm I have with my name is that I am not named after anyone in particular.  For some reason that fact bothered me as a child.  Even my middle name was given “just because.” But I do like the meaning and strive to shine the light of Jesus.

C is for cousins.  I do not have one single cousin to claim.  This greatly grieved me growing up.  I would attend family reunions for the Aycock family (my maternal grandmother’s family) and watch the batch of first cousins hang out.  I always wanted to be their cousin too.  It still makes me sad sometimes that I lack that relationship in my life.  BUT this fact forces me to treasure the relationships my children have with their 7 cousins even more!!!  We are especially blessed to have 5 cousins live just 3 miles down the road.  The relationships between my three children and my nieces and nephews make my heart melt!  There is also a certain young male cousin down in Houston who adores his three “Dallas Cousins.”  I do believe the admiration is mutual!  I have been trying to insert photos of cousins but it is not working for me tonight.  Ugh!

C is for coffee.  I do enjoy a cup of hot coffee but I am not addicted.  You could say I am a social drinker.  I love sitting down with friends while sipping coffee.  Tastes better that way!  I do like to have a cup or two of coffee on cold mornings or a cup of decaf on a cool night while reading a book. When it is not cold outside, I easily pass on my morning cup.  Yes, I do enjoy Starbucks!  My drink of choice (and I know I won’t get this in the right order) is :  Grande, decaf, non-fat, 2 pump mocha, extra hot, no whip.

C is for car.  I loathe car trips.  I am not very patient and get sick easily.  But I spend a lot of time in the car.  Well, not as much since I took a full time job at a local school.  I was driving a minimum of 73 miles per day.

C is for cold.  I LOVE cold weather.  Living in Texas for the majority of my life certainly fails to deliver that pleasure for me.

C is for children.  Of course I could talk about my three terrific children for paragraphs and paragraphs!  My love for children has been present from early on and is what drove me to pursue an education career.  I sooooo looked forward to being a mommy!

C is for cooking.  I spend my summers in Zambia, Africa, and my primary task is to cook for 100 American every night.  I LOVE to cook and had the best teacher ever.  Well, she had a superb teacher as well!  Now that I work full time, the joy is often removed from the endeavor.

C is for crazy.  I am crazy.  I enjoy things out of the ordinary.  I am crazy for teaching wee ones.  But I love it!  My job fits me like a glove.  I am also crazy in love with my husband.  Crazy!!!

C is for communion.  I partook in the Lord’s supper today at church.  It has been a long time and I have not realized how powerful it can be, especially while focusing on the sacrifice of our Lord.

The “C” verse for the day:

Children obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right.”  Ephesians 6:1

(FYI – I am using the verses from the Abeka curriculum.)

C is for clean.  I love a clean sheets, clean dishes, clean children, and a clean house.  Having our house on the market has certainly helped in that last area!

C is for calm.  After a day of whlrwind activities, the kids are asleep and the house is now peaceful.  I must now close this blog post and catch some C’s (I mean, Z’s).

C you next time!

2 Comments

  1. Ella Tracy
    Posted April 18, 2011 at 1:20 pm | Permalink

    I am absolutely loving these blogs!! Thank you so very much for sharing and for your plan to go through the alphabet. I can hardly wait to read each day!!

  2. Tiffany
    Posted April 18, 2011 at 4:41 pm | Permalink

    I, too, love, love, love these posts! What fun! And ABC’s help keep it simple, don’t they?! 🙂


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

