Growing Fat

It is nice to be back on familiar soil here in Zambia.  I have started to reunite with some of my Zambian peeps.  Today I start my cooking duties.  I just returned from greeting my kitchen pals and was greeted with a kind welcome.  Well, kind in Zambian terms.  Jack, my head cook this year greeted me with Zambian hugs and the comment, ” YOU GREW FAT.”

gulp

Apparently, it is a huge compliment to be told that you are fat here in Africa.  I came back to the main villa with a l ow self esteem and asked the maid if being told you are fat is a good or bad thing.  She said it is a very good thing.

I was planning on being “good” this summer but maybe just maybe I will have to be a bit more serious about this weight lost thingy.  I am starting to think that if somebody would have been so bold to tell me back in the states that I am “growing” then I would not have so much to lose.  UUUUGH!

So…….I now have a bit more motivation to refuse all those rolls and cookies I am about to create.

 

2 Comments

  1. Pam
    Posted June 8, 2011 at 9:45 pm | Permalink

    Hahaha! Cultural differences can be hilarious!

  2. Ella Tracy
    Posted June 9, 2011 at 9:30 am | Permalink

    I bet I’ll be told the same thing!!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

