Better Late Than Never!

Here at the Knightly manor, the children’s birthdays all sort of come one after another and have a tendency to fly right by!  This is especially true now that we are wrapping up our summer in Zambia when it is The Lad’s birthday AND first few weeks of teaching when it is Little Miss’ bday.   Plug in a move the week of Little Miss’ special day and 2 weeks later dad’s 5 week stint in Zambia ….so birthday celebrations sort of took the back burner this year.  UUUGH!  I hate to confess it.

BUT our children are NO less loved and appreciated AND celebrated this year than years of past.  In fact, I love each of our cherubs more this year than I did last year.  How can my love for them GROW and GROW more from the first time I held them in my arms?

So….my goal this week is to sum up my precious children at 13, 12, and 9.  Did I just type that?  How can my children be that old?

The Lad at 13!

I never knew a 13 year old boy could be so stinkin sweet and cute.  I am sure he would die if he saw  those words describing him.  You are precious, honest, goofy, loving, intelligent, eclectic, and funny. A few fun facts:

1.  You love to watch cooking shows, esp. the competitive ones.  You are always up for competitions.

2. You are constantly urging me to cook up something new.  You also beg me to allow you kids to play “Chopped.”

3.  You prefer to take showers at night, claiming you want to be “moist” at night, not in the morning.

4.  What a hugger you are!  This momma eats that up!

5.  Reading is still a big part of who you are!

6.  Last week I found a sticky note stuck on my sweater.  A certain 13 year old male wrote, “I love you.”

7.  You LOVE cloudy and/or rainy days.

8.  Football is your obsession.  It killed you that Daddy missed a big part of the football season this year.  Needless to say, I heard a lot more about football than I typically would have cared to know!

9.  You informed me that you will not date until you turn 17.  I replied, “well, that works for me.”  You paused a few minutes and said, “Well, it just might not work out.” I asked you what you were talking about.  “Mom, if I date a girl in high school and she does not go to Baylor, then it just won’t work out.”  I did not know you had chosen an university and I wonder who on earth you plan on dating!

10.  I love watching you battle what is right over the will of your flesh.  I don’t like to see you struggle but it is evident how you are gradually becoming very sensitive to the Holy Spirit.  You want to do the right thing!

11.  I love how you ADORE your daddy.  You have always had a tight and special bond with him and  it seems to get tighter by the day.

12.  You do not like to talk on the phone.

13.  Playing games is always something you like to do.

14.  You are convinced that OUR ipad is YOUR ipad.

15.  You despise writing.  You have horrible handwriting!

16.  You get rather upset at me when I put on hand lotion.  You are rather sensitive to smells.

17.  You enjoy listening to sermons on Sunday mornings and at Momentum (youth group).  You take in every word.

I am stopping at a random number for no particular reason.  I could go on and on about my precious son.  What a gift you are to us.  I know the teenage years have a reputation of being HORRIBLE but I am looking forward to the upcoming years.  I know the Lord will work in your life.  I can’t wait to see what you do with that!

2 Comments

  1. sincerelyanna
    Posted December 2, 2011 at 11:54 pm | Permalink

    What an awesome kid. I predict the teenage years won’t be as hard as you think with him. It sounds like he’s got it all together (with plans to go to Baylor and everything)! 🙂

  2. Ella Tracy
    Posted December 3, 2011 at 10:10 pm | Permalink

    What a wonderful, awesome boy! I know that he is in for many God – directed years and that he will bring extreme happiness to many – I love him so much!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

