What amused me today….

A 50 pound block of butter was delivered to my door today. My arteries started clogging up just observing it. I have already been through 25 pounds of butter. Tonight I started to dig into it. We bought a scale (that also does ounces, not only grams) to help me use the right measurements in cooking. It takes a long time to individually bag 1 cup portions. It is a rather messy endeavor.

The meat market! I was rather impressed with myself for not feeling sick to my stomach. It was rather clean. I just tried not to look at the cow shins. We were buying frozen chickens but my eyes kept wandering over to the big truck full of live chickens. I was shocked to discover that frozen chickens cost less. I have no desire to labor over killing and plucking a chicken….or 20 to feed all the Americans.

The bus station! I have been to the bus station in town several times and I am always amused. Today the husband and I were the only muzungus (white people) around. The bus salesmen (I use this term lightly) and taxi drivers were like leeches. Thankfully I have been there before and knew exactly where to go to get tickets for the Americans coming back from Victoria Falls tomorrow. I am always amazed at how people cut in line. My husband actually said, “what line?”

Samosas! I was in a big hurry when I ran into the store today to buy french bread and was hungry. I ran by the deli section and purchased three samosas (like meat pies). They were yummy. Yes, I shared with the husband.

Being cold. I was standing outside the Legacy Center tonight for a few minutes and I was rather chilly. The Zambian children with me were freezing so we just huddled together. I enjoyed those few moments of cuddling with them.

Week Two of Camp Life is officially over! WOW! Time is flying! Tomorrow we get a whole new batch of Americans in for week 3. Saturdays are crazy busy and quite a contrast from our weekends back home.

I am also very amused that I have been so consistent in blogging this week. Please be proud!

3 Comments

  1. Posted June 15, 2012 at 4:54 pm | Permalink

    So proud! Enjoying reading! I love hearing about the culture differences. 🙂

  2. Ella Tracy
    Posted June 15, 2012 at 7:02 pm | Permalink

    I am very proud of you for blogging!! It’s wonderful to be able to keep up, not only with camp activities, but with all the different and unusual times and experiences you’ve had in Lusaka. Love you

  3. Amy Miller
    Posted June 16, 2012 at 2:50 pm | Permalink

    Thank you for sharing your experiences. PCCS recently partnered with the Barlow’s and their missionary efforts in Haiti. Having seen the despair through the visit of three PCCS teachers, both the people/school in Haiti and what you all are doing in Africa are heavy in my prayers. What a blessing to see your family working together for Christ!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

