New Year. New Things

It is indeed a new year and yes indeed there will be new things!

The new calendar has been hung with care.

IMG_0110

I am keenly aware of some new things brewing in my world and obviously oblivious to others.

I refuse to make resolutions.

I have desires.

I have a need for change.

I have hope for our future.

Good thing hope will not disappoint!!!!  “My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.”  Yes, that is a song!

Might as well cut and paste the entire song!!!

My Hope Is Built

Text: Edward Mote, 1797-1874 
Music: William B. Bradbury, 1816-1868 

      1 My hope is built on nothing less 
	than Jesus' blood and righteousness. 
	I dare not trust the sweetest frame, 
	but wholly lean on Jesus' name. 
Refrain:
	On Christ the solid rock I stand, 
	all other ground is sinking sand; 
	all other ground is sinking sand. 

2.	When Darkness veils his lovely face, 
	I rest on his unchanging grace. 
	In every high and stormy gale, 
	my anchor holds within the veil. 
	(Refrain) 

3.	His oath, his covenant, his blood 
	supports me in the whelming flood. 
	When all around my soul gives way, 
	he then is all my hope and stay. 
	(Refrain) 

4.	When he shall come with trumpet sound, 
	O may I then in him be found! 
	Dressed in his righteousness alone, 
	faultless to stand before the throne! 
	(Refrain) 



I have been on a hymn kick lately.  It is odd and I can't explain it.  After the Christmas songs were tucked away, I entered "hymns for worship" on my Pandora account. 
I grew up in traditional Baptist church so the traditional hymns are not foreign to me.  We now attend a 
rather contemporary church which I love but there is a bit of a void.  I learned most of the words by 
hearing before I could read the lyrics in the hymnal.  My method of learning by ear failed me a few times.  Imagine my surprise when I was a 19 year old freshman in college and actually read the lyrics to "Holy, HolyHoly" and discovered that God does not live in the parsonage but "God in three persons.  Blessed Trinity."  I was shocked! 

I guess now that I am older and more mature ( Ha!  That is debatable!) I actually try to understand the 
words and even care to inquire about the things I don't grasp.  

Not sure where this post is going.  I have yet to determine the direction of my blog this year now that "The Joy Dare" is complete.  Of course I long to be more intellectual and spiritual.  I just want to grow closer to the Lord.  It is apparent that having a plan of some sort assists me in reaching any goal I loosely set.So......here is to searching for a plan to grow closer to the Lord.  Maybe writing is one way to achieve  
that goal!  

Here is to a new year and new things.  
I know one thing for certain.  
God is God all the time. 
The years change.  I change.  He doesn't.  
Now that is hope!
Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

