Practice

Little Miss amazes me in a variety of ways.  She is athletic, smart, musical, and just FUN!  She rarely lacks energy and is typically willing to accept adventure.  Today we were watching a recording of “The Amazing Race.”  I could read her emotions as she watched the teams compete in daring water adventures.  I asked her, “Would you like to do all of that?”

Her answer was an enthusiastic, “YES!”

I believe her.

I definitely believe her.

Along with her longing for adventure comes a desire for instant gratification.

With a desire for instant gratification comes a lack of patience.

She comes by all of this rather honestly.

Yep, like her momma!

I have tried my hand at numerous endeavors.  Due to the whole practice and commitment thing, I didn’t exactly excel in many areas.

Little Miss has attempted several things and unlike her momma, she has succeeded.

I am a proud momma.

There are, however, times when she does indeed need to push hard and practice, practice, practice!

This mainly applies to playing the piano.

She is not a big fan.  She is a big fan of playing the piano when it is easy.

We were discussing how she easily gets distracted by new pieces and wants to play ones she has perfected.

She told me that “practice does not make perfect.” She said her coach told her that “perfect practice makes perfect.”

I interjected and shared a quote I recently heard:  “Practice makes progress.”

And that my friends, is what we want.  That is what we want in all areas of our lives.

May Little Miss AND my other children remember that fact and work hard for progress.  Little by little.

May I remember that too!  I so often want to do something PERFECT, not focusing on the process of becoming who I am created to be.  And although we are called to be “perfect as our heavenly Father is perfect” (Matthew 5:48), we also know that the pursuit of perfection is a journey – and a struggle.  The apostle Paul described it as “straining toward what is ahead” (Philippians 3:13).  Straining is painful, but it is worth the effort.  “No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful.  Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.” (Hebrews 12:11)

So here’s to piano practice, the pursuit of perfection – and the joy of progress.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

