‘Tis better…

“‘Tis better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all.” – Alfred Lord Tennyson

This is a quote I have held onto and quoted often since welcoming little man into our hearts and home.

I hold him in my arms and listen to his giggles and catch myself wondering how I will ever be able to let him go.

I guess it boils down to a few things…

CPS.

The court.

Force.

One day I will get a call and I will have to hand over this little man to a stranger.

I will legally have to let him go.

There is always that small chance that this specific little man will be adoptable…but for now, it is not in the cards.

And that is okay.

Reunification is the word I heard over and over and over and over again in our preservice training.

It is a VITAL part of foster care. It is also the part that can leave foster parents’ hearts aching.

We might not know the plans the Lord has for this little guy BUT good thing HE does!

I am okay with that. I can say that with more faith now as I hold him close to me.

I consider it better to love him now than to have missed it all together.  I wonder if our poet friend, Alfred Lord Tennyson, knew a little more about fostering than we do.  🙂

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

