Memories

The past few years when I have put my husband on a plane to head to Africa for an extended period of time, I have prepared a set of “happies” for him to enjoy while we were separated.

***Happies is my mother’s term for little things that make someone you love feel HAPPY!  It can be a note, a small gift, a hug, etc. ***

I have been rather tickled with my creativity but after 6 or 7 successful attempts, I ran out of ideas.  It was becoming the same thing.  I can only quote Elizabeth Barrett Browning or Robert Frost so many times!   I ran out of ways to say “I love you” and “I miss you.”  I definitely wanted to steer away from dwelling on the enormous pain I feel when we are separated.

The night before he left this time I realized that I had yet to concoct a plan.  Deep down I was hoping if I didn’t prepare “happies” he wouldn’t go.  Well, history has it that it doesn’t work that way.  I sat down and began writing.  I failed to purchase cute card stock or gadgets.  I pulled out notebook paper, simple and plain notebook paper!  I began writing.  Memories began flooding my mind and I poured them out onto the paper.  Sitting at my kitchen table, I realized I had committed to transcribe 30 memories.

I folded each one and stuffed in an envelope and labeled each envelope with the date it was to be discovered. I tucked the ziplock baggie full of envelopes in his suitcase.

Little did I know my dearest man would read those daily and in return sit at his computer on the other side of the world and share his side of the story.

I have LOVED every word he has written.  I love what he says.  I love his heart. I absolutely LOVE the way he so easily and beautifully expresses himself.

Have I mentioned I have ONE AMAZING husband?!??!!?!

IMG_7202

I tell you all of this because my thought is that I would share some of the memories I recalled.  Of course I prefer to share his words, not mine. 🙂

Have I mentioned how talented he is?

I have discovered that with all of this memory recall I am somewhat distracted from my so called misery of separation. I am reminded that events and experiences have molded us into US and I am assured that my love for him doesn’t necessarily require us to be on the same continent.

Here is an excerpt from one of my husband’s emails in response to my memory about how I thought our relationship would be back in our Baylor days…

I am so happy with our story.  Like you, there are things I would change (primarily about myself), but I would never change US.  This week, Greer preached about Jeremiah 29:11 and about how God has a plan for our lives.  He said that oftentimes we have a plan for our lives and come to God and tell Him OUR plan and how we think it should go.  But Proverbs 16:9 says that “The mind of man plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps.”  We may have thoughts about what our life should look like, but God knows better – way better – than we do.  Greer ended the sermon with sharing the words to Francesca Battistelli’s song “Write Your Story” and then played the song.  I am so glad that God included you in my life when He wrote my story. It is a story that is still being written!  So glad you’re the main character! 🙂

 

Even the stinky chapters of separation are a part of this divine story. It doesn’t mean we have to like them, but it does bring us some level of peace and trust knowing that He is in the midst of it.  And of course, the next chapter is going to ROCK (that would be the chapter where we are together again).  If this were one of your books, this chapter would be over in no time :), but unfortunately we will just have to wait a bit longer for this episode to conclude.

 

I am so happy to be his story mate!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

